LogicMonitor Training and Certification

Last updated on 15 August, 2022

LogicMonitor Training

LogicMonitor’s training portal can be accessed from within the LogicMonitor portal.

Access the training portal from one of two places in the LogicMonitor portal
Depending upon which area of the product is currently active, you can access training by either clicking the Training icon located in the upper right of the header menu (highlighted in upper image) or by selecting Profile | Training from the left navigation menu (highlighted in lower image).

The first time you access the portal, you’ll be prompted to create a training user account with Skilljar, our learning management system (LMS). You’ll be asked to confirm your first name, last name, and email address. Note that you cannot change the value of the User field, as this is programmatically tied to your LogicMonitor user account.

Create Training Account dialog

After clicking Create Account, a confirmation email will be sent to the email address you entered. The confirmation email comes from the same email address as your LogicMonitor alerts ([email protected] where accountName is the name of your LogicMonitor account). If you do not initially see the email, check your spam folder or any email filters you may have configured for alert notifications. If you cannot find the email after a thorough search, contact support for assistance.

Once you’ve created and confirmed your training user account, you will be taken directly to the training portal whenever you access training via the LogicMonitor portal.

Certification Programs

In addition to free on-demand e-learning content, LogicMonitor has developed two technical certification programs:

  • LogicMonitor Certified Associate (LMCA)
  • LogicMonitor Certified Professional (LMCP)

Each certification course provides a unique learning experience including graphical and video content based on numerous examples in the LogicMonitor UI. All content has been developed by our Senior Training Engineers, and is based on their years of experience onboarding and training new product users.

After completing the course content, users will take the certification exam. In order to become certified, users must score 80% or higher. After passing the certification exam, a user will receive an e-certificate documenting their accomplishment that can be shared with their teams or on social media.

Purchasing Certification Programs

The LMCA and LMCP programs may be purchased with a credit card directly through the training portal. If you purchased a training package through your account manager and were invoiced, your customer success manager will enroll you in the program so that you’ll automatically have access when you log into the training portal. If you are an administrator who purchased the certification for one or more end-users, simply let your CSM know the email addresses of the individuals who need access to the program. If you purchased an enterprise or pro training bundle, your CSM will provide you with a code that multiple users can use to enroll in certification programs at no cost.

Once enrolled in a certification program, you will have access to the training materials and exam for one year.

LogicMonitor Certified Associate (LMCA)

The LMCA is the introductory and foundational certification for new users of LogicMonitor. This program presents LogicMonitor from both a conceptual and practical point of view. Designed for end-users, LMCA covers basic concepts, usage, and best practices. It does not cover initial setup, configuration, or administrative tasks.

The approximate duration for both the LMCA course and certification exam is four hours. For new customers, successful completion of the LMCA is a recommended prerequisite for enrolling in the LMCP.

Topics include:

  • LogicMonitor platform architecture
  • Navigating the UI
  • Viewing and interacting with resources and graphs
  • Analyzing and responding to alerts
  • Configuring dashboards and reports


The LMCA exam consists 60 minute timed exam with 20 multiple-choice questions. The passing score is 75% (15/20).

Purchase of the LMCA program includes two attempts to pass the exam. Candidates who fail their first attempt at an exam can attempt a second retake at any time. However, for any future attempts, a candidate must wait a period of 14 calendar days before they may retest for the same exam.

The LMCA exam is open book. Refer to any course content and LogicMonitor’s support documentation as you work through the exam, and you may search for other online materials as well. We recommend that you be logged into an active LogicMonitor account while taking the exam.

While we encourage you to reference online materials to help you with the exam, we expect and trust that you will complete the exam independently and will not receive any assistance on the exam from other individuals.

LogicMonitor Certified Professional (LMCP)

Building on the LMCA, the LMCP is designed for LogicMonitor administrators and advanced users. This program covers the initial setup, configuration, and administrative tasks of a LogicMonitor portal. Included are best practices for deploying and maintaining the LogicMonitor solution.

Training Modules

The LMCP training modules, broken down by product area, include:

  • Introduction and Overview
  • Designing Group Structure
  • User and Permission Management
  • Collectors
  • Adding Devices
  • LogicModules
  • NetFlow
  • LM Cloud
  • LM Container
  • LM Service Insight
  • Topology Mapping
  • Monitoring Websites
  • Alert Tuning
  • Alert Routing Dashboards
  • Reports
  • API


The LMCP exam is a 90-minute exam consisting of 50 multiple-choice questions. The passing score is 80% (40/50).

Purchase of the LMCP program includes two attempts to pass the final exam. Candidates who fail their first attempt at an exam can attempt a second retake at any time. However, for any future attempts, a candidate must wait a period of 14 calendar days before they may retest for the same exam.

Training Webinars

LogicMonitor’s training team offers live webinars covering general product knowledge and new features. To view and register for upcoming webinars, visit our Live Training Calendar.

In This Article